Elementary Test Descriptions

ESGI MATH and READING (Pre-K – 1st grade): 

This assessment identifies individual students or groups for targeted instruction, and helps teachers customize the learning environment to promote focus areas for academic growth in math and reading.

FAST Reading and Math (grades K-8): 

Reading test is a simple, efficient computer-adaptive measure of broad reading that is individualized for each student, but may be delivered in a group format in about 15-30 minutes. Students with deficits in achievement are identified and receive additional interventions.

Math test is simple, efficient measures of math skills that may be group administered in about 20-30 minutes. Students with deficits in achievement are identified and receive additional interventions.

OLPA MATH and Reading (grades 3-8 math and grades 3-5 reading):

The Optional Local Purpose Assessment (OLPA) is available in mathematics for students in grades 3 – 8 and reading grades 3-5.  This assessment helps students familiarize themselves with the MCA online testing format and tools. It also provides teachers with information to target instruction before the MCA tests are given in the spring.

This testing method provides a more precise measure of students' skills and knowledge.  Students are able to pause at any point in the test and resume the test later within the testing window.


MCA Math, Reading, and Science: 

 The Minnesota Comprehensive Assessments (MCAs) are state tests in mathematics, reading and science that meet the requirements of the federal Elementary and Secondary Education Act (ESEA). These assessments are given to measure student performance against the Minnesota Academic Standards that specify what students in a particular grade should know and be able to do. Most students take the MCA, however, students who receive special education services and meet eligibility requirements may take the alternate assessment MTAS.

                Reading: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 10)

Mathematics: MCA or MTAS (grades 3-8, 11)

Science: MCA or MTAS (grades 5, 8, 10)


Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.